...

Happy Birthday, Facebook! A little history

Exactly 11 years ago, an unknown Harvard student named Mark Zuckerberg launched a small social network called thefacebook.After 4,018 days, the network has grown tremendously, changed its name, gained 1.39 billion monthly users, reached annual revenues of $12.47 billion and become a $211 billion company.On the 11th birthday of the beloved social network of millions of users worldwide, we decided to take a little peek into the past.

Increased number of users

In the earliest period thefacebook was available only to Harvard students. In March 2004, the service expanded to Stanford, Columbia, and Yale universities. This continued until September 2005, when the service officially changed its name to Facebook. A year later, in September 2006, Facebook opened for general registration.Screen-Shot-2015-02-04-at-1.27.02-PMBy then, the company could already boast of major achievements. It had launched Facebook Photos in October 2005 and Facebook for Mobile in April 2006. In September of the same year we saw News Feed.Your first million users Facebook got in December 2004, and a year later there were already 6 million users. By December 2006, the number of users had grown to 12 million, and by December 2007 to 58 million. This phenomenal growth continued uninterrupted until the number reached 360 million in December 2009 and 608 million in December 2010. In October 2012, the social network gained an astounding one billion users worldwide.

Features и tools

If you stand in front of the headquarters Facebook in Menlo Park, California, you will see a giant symbol with a thumbs up. This is the well-known bark, which Facebook came up with it in 2009.IMG_10341In the same year, the company launched Facebook UsernamesThe network launched a new version of the network, which allowed users to enter their real names into their accounts. At the end of 2011, the network launched Timeline - chronological user history FacebookIn January 2013. Facebook presented Graph Search - semantic search engine, and in December 2014 created its mobile version.Mobile tools FacebookThe key to the company's financial future is, without a doubt, the key to the company's future. Already today, 1.19 billion people use mobile apps every month. And that's not counting the 700 million users WhatsAppas well as 300 million users Instagram. In addition, another 500 million people use Messenger app.

Conflicts

Despite the fact that, for the most part, all the achievements Facebook always went over well, the company did get into various conflicts.In addition to the general frustration on Wall Street after the company went public, there was a lot of dissatisfaction about the ever-changing protection of personal data. In late 2011, the company agreed to accusations from the U.S. Trade Federal Commission, which said that Facebook allowed itself to change users' private settings without obtaining consent.In addition, the company paid $20 million in court orders for being found guilty of violating users' privacy with its ads.Of course, it's impossible to remember everything that Facebook made in 11 years. However, no one will argue that the company is at the top, where it has been diligently led since 2004 by an ordinary Harvard student.After all these years, the company has become an integral part of the lives of users who communicate with friends and family anywhere in the world, and of vendors who see in the service a goldmine thanks to the possibility to reach billions of people. And only time will tell if Zuckerberg and his company will be able to stay on top or if they will be thrown off the pedestal by a new and more original service.

Подписаться
Уведомить о
guest
0 Comments
Межтекстовые Отзывы
Посмотреть все комментарии
en_USEnglish

Ровно 11 лет назад никому не известный гарвардский студент Марк Цукерберг запустил небольшую социальную сеть под названием thefacebook.Спустя 4 018 дней сеть сильно разрослась, сменила имя, приобрела 1,39 миллиарда пользователей ежемесячно, достигла годовой прибыли в 12,47 миллиардов долларов и превратилась в компанию стоимостью 211 миллиардов долларов.В 11-й день рождения любимой социальной сети миллионов пользователей по всему миру мы решили немного заглянуть в прошлое.

Рост количества пользователей

В самый ранний период thefacebook был доступен только для студентов Гарварда. В марте 2004 года сервис расширился до Стэндфордского, Колумбийского и Йельского университетов. Так продолжалось до сентября 2005 года, когда сервис официально сменил имя на Facebook. Годом позже, в сентябре 2006 года, Facebook открылся для общей регистрации.Screen-Shot-2015-02-04-at-1.27.02-PMК тому моменту компания уже могла похвастаться крупными достижениями. Она запустила Facebook Photos в октябре 2005-го и Facebook for Mobile в апреле 2006-го. В сентябре этого же года свет увидел News Feed.Свой первый миллион пользователей Facebook заполучил в декабре 2004 года, а годом позже их уже было 6 миллионов. К декабрю 2006 года количество пользователей возросло до 12 миллионов, а декабрю 2007-го – до 58 миллионов. Этот феноменальный рост продолжался непрерывно, пока количество не достигло 360 миллионов в декабре 2009-го и 608 миллионов – в декабре 2010 года. В октябре  2012 года социальная сеть заработала поразительный миллиард пользователей по всему миру.

Возможности и инструменты

Если вы станете перед штаб-квартирой Facebook в Менло-Парке в Калифорнии, вы увидите гигантский символ с большим пальцем вверх. Это всем известный лайк, который Facebook придумал в 2009 году.IMG_10341В том же году компания запустила Facebook Usernames, что позволило пользователям заносить настоящие имена в свои аккаунты. В конце 2011 года сеть запустила Timeline – хронологическую историю пользователей Facebook.В январе 2013 года Facebook представил Graph Search – семантический поисковик, а в декабре 2014 года создал его мобильную версию.Мобильные инструменты Facebook, без сомнений, — ключ к финансовому будущему компании. Уже сегодня 1,19 миллиарда людей используют мобильные приложения ежемесячно. И это не считая 700 миллионов пользователей WhatsApp, а также 300 миллионов пользователей Instagram. Кроме того, еще 500 миллионов человек используют Messenger app.

Конфликты

Несмотря на то, что по большей части все достижения Facebook всегда проходили на ура, компания все же попадала в различные конфликтные ситуации.Кроме общего разочарования Уолл-стрит после того, как компания стала публичной, было очень много недовольства относительно постоянно меняющейся защиты персональных данных. В конце 2011 года компания согласилась с обвинениями Американской торговой федеральной комиссии, которая заявила, что Facebook позволял себе изменять приватные настройки пользователей без получения на это согласия.Кроме того, компания выплатила 20 миллионов долларов по решению суда за то, что была признана виновной в нарушении конфиденциальности пользователей своими рекламными объявлениями.Конечно, невозможно вспомнить все, что Facebook сделал за 11 лет. Однако никто не будет спорить, что компания находится на вершине, к которой ее с 2004 года усердно вел обычный гарвардский студент.Спустя все эти годы компания стала неотъемлемой частью жизни пользователей, которые общаются с друзьями и семьей в любой точке земного шара, а также продавцов, которые видят в сервисе золотую жилу благодаря возможности достучаться до миллиардов людей. И лишь время покажет, сможет ли Цукерберг и его компания продержаться на вершине или же будет сброшен с пьедестала новым и более оригинальным сервисом.