Services and applications for travel - Sergey Dolya

A famous traveler, blogger and businessman told in his LiveJournal about the services and applications he uses in his travels. He also told me why he takes four phones when he travels.

Travel apps from Sergei Dol

Sometimes people ask me what services are better to use for travel planning. I'll try to put it all together in one post.

When I travel around Russia, I use several applications. The first group is maps. I use three programs:

1. Yandex maps are the most detailed maps of Russia, but they only work if there is a connection.

2. Maps.me - offline maps. I have the whole of Russia uploaded to my phone - it's almost two gigabytes, but I always have a more or less detailed map.

3. Galileo PRO - here you can download Google satellite maps and use them offline. And I have also downloaded the Generalstaff topographic two-kilometer maps - also sometimes useful.

The second group of apps is everything related to logistics: tickets, hotels, restaurants, entertainment, etc. I buy tickets through Aviaseils, hotels through Bucking, restaurants and entertainment are usually just selected through Yandex (in Russia) or Google (abroad). If you type in something like "sushi near me", imho for Russia Yandex has the most detailed scale and a large base. More than once I encountered the fact that Google can take you 5 km away, although there is another sushi shop right next door.

Yandex is also a bit more convenient to produce pictures, especially if it's some Russian hinterland and you type in something like "farmstead XXX N-region". You can immediately make an impression of the place, poke in the itinerary. If you need to read more to understand whether to spend time on a place, I use Tripadvisor or Currant.

I use the paid version of Tripit for flights, but it's pointless and practically no different than the free version. So don't buy it.

I keep all tickets and important information about the trip in Evernote. I create a separate note for each trip and put there all the hotel confirmations, tickets, program, etc.

It's also important that I take four phones with me when I travel around Russia. Why? To be guaranteed to be in touch when I have the opportunity.

One satellite phone - It's just in case I get really deep into the woods. It's a backup.

Second - My main iPhone with a Beeline SIM. It is all good as long as I travel in the European part of Russia, because when I go somewhere outside Irkutsk and there Bilain is no longer Russia and a megabyte costs 10 rubles, which is robbery in pure form, so when I go to the east, in the phone cut off cellular data at all, as already got with Bilain astronomical bills for a couple of days in Yakutia.

Third phone - Samsung with an MTS SIM card. For all my dislike of MTS and the constant attempts to charge me for who knows what, it is the only operator that works in the Far East at virtually the same rates as in Moscow. The second reason is that there are some programs that only work on android.

Fourth phone - Another iPhone with a travel SIM from Dreamsim. This one is just for emergencies and the middle of nowhere. For example, in the south of Sakhalin, where there is no Russian connection, you can catch a Japanese SIM and send a couple of Instagrams or even vids. Well, everywhere in Russia, it clings to any operator, that is, if in the area where I climbed, there will only be Megafon or Tele2 or Rostelecom, then I can connect to them, too.

 

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

Сервисы и приложения для путешествий — Сергей Доля

Сервисы и приложения для путешествий — Сергей Доля

14

Олег Цегельник

Загрузка...

Известный путешественник, блогер и бизнесмен рассказал в своем ЖЖ о том, какие сервисы и приложения он использует в своих путешествиях. Получился весьма неплохой набор приложений для путешествий, а еще Сергей рассказал почему в поездки берет 4 телефона.

Приложения для путешествий от Сергея Доля

Меня спрашивают иногда, какими сервисами лучше пользоваться для планирования путешествий. Попробую собрать все в одном посте.

В поездках по России я использую несколько приложений. Первая группа — это карты. Я пользуюсь тремя программами:

1. Яндекс-карты — самые подробные карты России, но работают только в том случае, если есть связь.

2. Maps.me — офлайновые карты. У меня закачена вся Россия в телефон — это почти 2 гигабайта, зато я всегда с более-менее подробной картой.

3. Galileo PRO — сюда можно закачать спутниковые карты гугла и использовать их потом в офлайне. А еще у меня сюда же закачены генштабовские топографические двухкилометровки — тоже бывает полезно.

Вторая группа приложений — это все, что связано с логистикой: билеты, отели, рестораны, развлечения и тд. Билеты покупаю через Авиасейлс, отели через Букинг, рестораны и развлечения обычно просто выбираю через Яндекс (в России) или Google (за границей). Если набрать что-то вроде «суши рядом со мной», имхо для России у Яндекса самый подробный масштаб и большая база. Не раз сталкивался с тем, что Google может увести за 5 км, хотя есть еще одна сушильня прямо под боком.

Еще Яндекс чуть удобнее выдает картинки, особенно если это какая-то российская глубинка и вбиваешь что-то типа «усадьба ХХХ N-ский район». Можно сразу составить впечатление о месте, тыцнуть в маршрут. Если нужно подробнее почитать, чтобы понять, стоит ли тратить время на какое-то место, пользуюсь Трипэдвайзером или Смородиной.

Для перелетов использую платную версию Tripit, но она бессмысленна и практически ничем не отличается от бесплатной. Так что не покупайте.

Все билеты и важную информацию о поездке храню в Evernote. Для каждой поездки создаю отдельную заметку и скидываю туда все подтверждения гостиниц, билеты, программу и тд.

Еще важно — в поездки по России я беру с собой 4 телефона. Зачем? Чтобы гарантированно быть на связи, когда есть такая возможность.

Один телефон спутниковый — он лежит на всякий случай, когда я залезаю совсем глубоко в лес. Это резерв.

Второй — мой основной айфон с билайновской симкой. Он всем хорош, пока я езжу по европейской части России, так как стоит мне уехать куда-нибудь за Иркутск и там у Билайна уже не Россия и мегабайт стоит 10 рублей, что вообще грабеж в чистом виде, так что, когда я еду на восток, то в телефоне отрубая сотовые данные вообще, так как уже попадал с билайном на астрономические счета за пару дней в Якутии.

Третий телефон — Самсунг с симкой МТС. При всей моей нелюбви к МТС и постоянных попытках списать с меня деньги не пойми за что, это единственный оператор, который работает на Дальнем Востоке практически по тем же расценкам, что и в Москве. Вторая причина — есть некоторые программы, которые работают только на андроиде.

Четвертый телефон — еще один айфон с туристической симкой от Дримсим. Этот уж совсем на случай беды и глухомани. Например, на юге Сахалина, где нет никакой российской связи можно поймать японскую и отправить пару инстаграмок или даже видосиков. Ну и везде в России она цепляется к любому оператору, то есть, если в той местности, куда я забрался, будет только Мегафон или Теле2 или Ростелеком, то я и к ним смогу подсоединиться.