Google updated its Maps app with an improved color scheme

Google has released an update to Maps, where it introduced a new color scheme for better navigation among institutions and infrastructure. Google announced this on its blog.

Download Google Maps from the AppStore for free.

Google released an update to Maps with an improved color scheme

Google has improved the color schemes of the Maps app

The main tabs of the application received an update - now important information will be shown in them more clearly. For example, gas stations will be shown more often when navigating, and railroad stations will be shown in the transport section.

Google has also updated Maps' color scheme and icons to better distinguish places like cafes, churches, museums and hospitals. Previously, all these places were marked with blue icons.

Cafes and restaurants are now marked in orange, stores in blue, hospitals in pink, and entertainment venues in turquoise. "For example, if you're in a new neighborhood and you're looking for a coffee shop, you can open the map and find the nearest orange icon," Google says.

Google updated its Maps app with an improved color scheme

However, many of the colors are similar in one way or another anyway, so they can easily be confused. Within a few weeks, Google promises to update all the services that use Maps: Assistant, search, Google Earth and Android Auto.

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

Google выпустил обновление Maps, где представил новую цветовую схему для лучшей навигации среди заведений и объектов инфраструктуры. Об этом Google сообщила в своем блоге.

Скачать Google Maps из AppStore бесплатно.

Google выпустил обновление Maps с улучшенной цветовой схемой

Google улучшил цветовые схемы приложения Maps

Основные вкладки приложения получили обновление — теперь важная информация будет показана в них более четко. Например, заправки будут чаще показываться при навигации, а железнодорожные станции — в разделе с транспортом.

Google также обновила цветовую схему Maps и иконки, чтобы лучше различать такие объекты, как кафе, церкви, музеи и больницы. Ранее все эти места помечались голубыми иконками.

Теперь кафе и рестораны отмечаются оранжевым, магазины — голубым, больницы — розовым, а развлекательные заведения — бирюзовым. «Например, если вы находитесь в новом районе и ищете кафе, вы можете открыть карту и найти ближайшую оранжевую иконку», —говорится в сообщении Google.

Впрочем, многие из цветов все равно так или иначе похожи друг на друга, поэтому их можно легко спутать. В течение нескольких недель Google обещает обновить все сервисы, которые используют Maps: Assistant, поиск, Google Earth и Android Auto.