Google Photos problem

The main problem with Google Photos

Google's new service with unlimited storage is far from perfect: the main problem with Google Photos

Google's new unlimited storage service is far from perfect: the main problem Google PhotosAs the old English proverb says, "if something sounds too good to be true, it usually is. On Tuesday, the Google I/O 2015 conference took place, lasting more than two hours. As you might guess, a lot of news came off the stage during that time, many of which were really intriguing. However, only a few of them turned out to be really resonant.In this sense, the service particularly distinguished itself Google Photos. Google has announced an updated version of its photo hosting service, and it has also announced that from now on the service will offer users unlimited storage space in the cloud for photos and videos. The offer is actually very good, but photo lovers should carefully examine all the terms and conditions before getting excited.The updated app Google Photos is already available for download on iOS and Android. The service automatically uploads all photos and videos from your mobile device to the cloud; images can also be uploaded manually from your computer through the web interface.At first glance, Google Photos - is the Holy Grail for both professional and amateur photographers: unlimited and free storage! But practice shows that under "unlimited" there are always some restrictions, and Google Photos has two of them.

Two major problems with Google Photos

  1. Loaded into the program photos must have a resolution of no more than 16 megapixels, or 4920 x 3264 dots. Photos of higher resolution will be automatically compressed to the appropriate size. This is sufficient for most modern smartphones; however, the quality of photos taken with any DSLR camera will be significantly degraded when uploaded to Google Photos.
  2. As for the video, the maximum supported resolution is 1080p, so all videos are in 2K and 4K formatsThe pictures taken with smartphones will also be compressed.

For regular users, these limitations will hardly be felt. If your only camera is an iPhone or Android smartphone, Google Photos is ideal. If you are a professional or amateur photographer, however, these limitations will be difficult to accept.

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

Главная проблема Google Фото

Главная проблема Google Фото

15

Олег Цегельник

Загрузка...

Новый сервис Google с неограниченным хранилищем далек от совершенства: главная проблема Google ФотоКак говорится в старой английской пословице, «если что-либо звучит слишком хорошо, чтобы быть правдой, то обычно так оно и есть». Во вторник состоялась конференция Google I/O 2015, продолжавшаяся более двух часов. Как можно догадаться, за это время со сцены прозвучало большое количество новостей, многие из которых были действительно интригующими. Однако по-настоящему резонансными оказалось лишь несколько их них.В этом смысле особо отличился сервис Google Фото. Google объявила о выпуске обновлённой версии своего фотохостинга, а также сообщила, что с настоящего момента служба предложит пользователям неограниченный объём в облаке для хранения фотографий и видео. Предложение на самом деле очень хорошее, но любителям фотографии следует тщательно изучить все условия, прежде чем радоваться.Обновлённое приложение Google Фото уже доступно для загрузки на iOS и Android. Сервис автоматически загружает в облако все фотографии и видеозаписи с мобильного устройства; изображения также можно загрузить вручную с компьютера через веб-интерфейс.На первый взгляд, Google Фото – это Святой Грааль как для фотографов-профессионалов, так и для любителей: неограниченное и бесплатное хранилище! Но практика показывает, что под «безлимитным» всегда скрываются какие-либо ограничения, и у Google Фото их два.

Две основные проблемы Google Фото

  1. Загруженные в программу фотографии должны иметь разрешение не более 16 мегапикселей, или 4920 x 3264 точек. Фотографии большего разрешения будут автоматически сжаты до соответствующего размера. Этого достаточно для большинства современных смартфонов; однако качество снимков, сделанных на любой зеркальный фотоаппарат будет значительно ухудшено при загрузке в Google Фото.
  2. Что касается видео, максимально поддерживаемое разрешение 1080p, поэтому все видеозаписи в форматах 2К и 4К, снятые на смартфоны, также будут сжаты.

Для обычных пользователей эти ограничения практически не будут ощущаться. Если ваша единственная камера – iPhone или Android-смартфон, Google Фото будет идеальным решением. Если же вы профессионал или просто любитель фотографии, с этими ограничениями будет трудно смириться.

x

Новые iOS приложения. Новости Apple. Розыгрыш iPhone.

В Telegram-канале @Apps4Life